Mississippi Mineral Rights

Mississippi Mineral Rights pertaining to oil and gas have been productive since October of 1926 with the drilling of the Amory Petroleum Company #1 Carter. Mississippi minerals also include a wide range of hydrocarbon products including crude oil, natural gas, NGL’s, CO2, and coal. The first field discovered in Mississippi was the Amory Field in Monroe County. The top counties by well count are Jasper County, Jefferson Davis County, and Lamar County.

Major Oil and Gas Fields in Mississippi

  • Baxterville Field
  • Bay Springs Field
  • Brookhaven Field
  • Corinne Field
  • Cranfield Field
  • East Eucutta Field
  • East Heidelberg Field
  • Gwinville Field
  • Little Creek Field
  • Mallalieu Field
  • Martinville Field
  • McComb Field
  • Soso Field
  • Summerland Field
  • Tinsley Field
  • Trimble Field

Oil and Gas Companies Active in Mississippi

  • Callon Petroleum
  • Denbury Resources
  • EOG Resources
  • Hunt Oil
  • Mossbacher Energy
  • Penn Virginia
  • Shell Oil
  • Spooner Petroleum
  • Victor P Smith

Mississippi Mineral Rights Links

Mississippi Oil and Gas Board: http://gis.ogb.state.ms.us/MSOGBOnline/

Additional Reading

  • Oil & Gas 101 – General information for mineral rights owners. Start here if you’re a newbie.